Being a vegetarian can be hard work when taken seriously. Constantly reading the back of packages to ensure that you are eating the right things. But there are some things we assume are not made with animal parts or meat just because it isn’t obvious.
Red Velvet Cake
I was devastated when I become a vegetarian and learned this. I hadn’t eaten in years but always love to have options when it comes to cake! Red velvet contains bugs. Yes BUGS. The ingredient is called Carmine (also known as Cochineal) which is used as food coloring. Some people do not feel affected by this as they do not class as animals but it is down to each persons discretion – always good to know as some people are not aware!
Parmesan cheese contains rennet which is enzymes from baby animals stomach. Most cheese has a vegetable-based rennet but always good to double check the packaging before eating.
Yes, you read it right – baked beans! Who would have thought? Sadly it’s true and big brands add pork as an ingredient. There are alternatives
Some tortilla contains lard which is pig fat. Check the packaging if it is suitable for vegetarians or if you are at a restaurant, ask the waiter/waitress for details.
Can be fried in animal fat – check the label or if you are at a restaurant, ask what they are cooked in.
Marshmallow contains gelatin to make it thick. Gelatin is made from parts of animals such as bones, stomach etc. Check the packaging if you are going to eat anything that contains marshmallows as there are alternatives – for example, Ben & Jerry’s Phish Food is vegetarian friendly! Phew!
Hopefully this has been useful, please check out my page for more vegetarian blog posts.